History

CLUB HISTORY

The West Vancouver Cricket Club was formed in 1955 by three Kerrisdale players, Tom Guy, Dr George Mott and John Able, who felt that there was enough potential in the area to form a club.  That summer a series of friendly fixtures was played against other clubs in the mainland league, using a small nucleus and borrowed players.  The response was so favourable that in 1956 a full 'A' team was entered into the league.  In 1957, a team was entered in both 'A' and 'B; Divisions and in the early 1960's the club fielded three teams for a number of years.  However this was later cut back to two teams.  Any West Vancouver player will point out that the lack of championship points up the rather holiday air that West Vancouver brings to its cricket!

In it's infancy, the ground itself could be found in Ambleside, 100 yards from the beach with the scenic North Shore Mountains rising almost from the edge of the ground.  As far as beauty is concerned, few grounds can compare.  The new ground now as it stands at Hugo Ray Park is a little higher into the mountains which has become the permanent home of the West Vancouver Cricket Club with full playing, practicing and social facilities.  There is no truth to the old story that the submarine ball was first discovered at West Vancouver's Ambleside pitch during high tide.

West Vancouver boasts one of the largest junior programs in BC and every year the number of teams increase.  Teams play in a Saturday Morning Junior League and there is an active schools program in conjunction with schools on the North Shore.

The future looks bright for West Vancouver, as the teams are gaining every year in both numbers and strength.